Serengeti

lioness

 

my mark is made upon your noble neck

muscles are locked, claws sing through your flesh

I am the awful terror of morning.

 

zebra

 

your pretty teeth would rend me if they could.

my face is held in your maw. You are fire

and sharp, acrid grass, and all things that hurt.

 

lioness

 

I set my power against your stillness

I try to make your calming heft descend

you are baptising my mane in the stream

 

zebra

 

I want to drown your terrible beauty

as thrashing strikes now slow to an embrace

though blood runs quick, I do not feel afraid

 

lioness

 

your bite is dull as the world, cud-chewer

your hoof, it pounds my body like weather.

though I can’t breathe, I will not let you go.

 

zebra

 

the plain is still and quiet, our trauma

allowed time denied the dying hour

your body goes limp. you have let me go.

Leave a Reply

